Abramelin Talismans and Spirits   5 comments

Great news for Abramelin aspirants!

abramelin-rembrandt-faustus

Over the years, many students have privately emailed me to ask questions about magick – and one of the most common questions I am asked is “How do I use the talismans at the end of the Book of Abramelin?”

Unfortunately, that is not a question that can be answered so easily in a simple email or forum post.  The Book of Abramelin contains a rather sophisticated system of goety – most of it scattered and hidden throughout the text so as to discourage dabblers.  In order to explain it all in detail, it would be necessary to write a rather lengthy essay on the subject.

So, in 2009, that is exactly what I did.  I wrote an essay entitled The Spirit-Magick of Abramelin that outlines the entire system – including how to summon and work with the spirits, how to create new word-square talismans and how to use them once they are made.  I published it in an anthology from Scarlet Imprint called Diabolical – which focused on various traditions of working with demons.  (My essay might have been the only one from the perspective of an angel-worker who also works with chthonic spirits.)

The only problem was that the hard-bound Diabolical – though an absolute must-have book – was a bit obscure and somewhat on the expensive side.  Students continued to ask me about the Abramelin word-squares and spirits – and I’m not sure how many of them were willing (or able) to purchase the book just to get my essay from it…

Now we are fast approaching the year 2014, and I felt it was time to let the genie out of the bottle, so to speak, and release The Spirit-Magick of Abramelin in a more easily accessible format.  Therefore, I have re-published the essay in the Autumnal Equinox 2013 edition of Hermetic Virtues Magazine (subscription info here.).  🙂

Hermetic Virtues Magazine

Hermetic Virtues Magazine

It is an electronic-format magazine, coming in PDF form directly to your in-box.  If you don’t want to subscribe to the magazine (but, really, why wouldn’t you??), I’m pretty sure HV Magazine is willing to sell single-issue copies.  So if you desire to learn how to properly work with the talismans and spirits of the Abramelin tradition, you now have an affordable and accessible source for my essay.  Enjoy!

Special thanks to Jayne Gibson over at HV, who worked tirelessly to get the word-squares and other formatting issues with this essay exactly right.  It was no easy task!

Also see my (free) essay on Abramlein’s Magickal Word Squares: Compiled and Corrected for the First Time.   (This is just a taste of the work I’ve done on the existing word-squares, the bulk of which I will later publish in book form.)

Also see this blog post on Abramelin’s system of Mixed Qabalah.  As well as this follow-up post on the same subject.

Finally, in the near future, keep an eye out for my latest essay that tackles the angelic side of Abramelin’s magick:  After Abramelin: Working with the Holy Guardian Angel – to be published in Nephilim Press’ Walking with the Angel.

Zorge,

Aaron

Posted October 2, 2013 by kheph777 in grimoires

Tagged with , , ,

5 responses to “Abramelin Talismans and Spirits

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for that Aaron. I worked on your sugestions for the mixed Qabalah with great results.
    I found very interesting the current publishing. I went to the Hermetic Virtues Magazine website, but currently there’s no information about there.
    I will try to send a message to the editors.

    Like

  2. I’ve ordered Diabolical, and am looking forward to reading and working with it.

    Like

  3. I’ve also ordered – and received – Diabolical. Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Holy Guardian Angel – New Anthology from Nephilim Press | Ananael (The Secrets of Wisdom)

Leave a comment