Are Spirits Detrimental to your Spiritual Path?   2 comments

Greetings Fellow Wielders of Magick!

magick_blog_updated

From the Llewellyn Magick Blog, March 23, 2017:

Regardless of whether or not an individual spell mentions the involvement of some entity, I would be hard-pressed to find a single operation that is not *greatly* enhanced by invoking the participation of my familiars, helpers, and patrons. Whether they are communicating with me (often telling me how to make the spell better), opening the Gates for me, arguing in my favor on the other side, carrying my spells to their targets, guiding me through some astral realm, or simply standing beside me in my Temple performing a ritual along with me—my spirits are involved in everything I do.

So there is the usual debate, and where I stand in it. Nothing really new there. But, then, tonight I heard something entirely new. Apparently, there are those who believe working with spirits can be detrimental to your magical and spiritual practice! It was suggested that relying on them serves as a kind of crutch, stopping you from developing your own spiritual and psychic “muscles.”

Read the Rest at:  http://www.llewellyn.com/blog/2017/03/are-spirits-detrimental-to-your-spiritual-path/

 

 

Posted March 23, 2017 by kheph777 in blogs, llewellyn blog, Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “Are Spirits Detrimental to your Spiritual Path?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Aaron! I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while and find your take on the whole ‘Working with your patron and familiar spirits’ very very interesting. That being said, I come from a Golden Dawn type system, and I have no idea how one would go ‘finding’ his patron or familiar spirit, and let alone how to communicate efficiently with it. Would you happen to have a blog post about that or a book you’d recommend?

    Thanks in advance.

    Like

    Sebastian Yanik

Leave a comment